cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our users can answer all of your questions on files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Selective sync problem - Cannot add new online folders to local PC ("Cannot access"

New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

Hi,

I've been using Dropbox for many years now. On one of my PC's I use selective syncing, where only some of my online folders are synced.

I now tried to add some more of my online folders to the list of synced folders, and although the folders and all files within ARE added to my desktop Dropbox folder and are visible - all their badges remain as the grey ONLINE sign, and every single file cannot be opened or accessed from my PC.

When I try to open them directly from Dropbox.com they do open, which means the contents is unharmed, only for some reason inaccessibke from my desktop app.

Another hint: when I copy any unsynced file into my clipboard and try to paste it anywhere (namely copy the file) I get this error message:

"An unexpected error is keeping you from copying the file...(etc) Error 0x80070780: The file cannot be accessed by the system."

The above is true for ANY of the online folders that to date were not synced. The folders and files within them that have been previously synced remain accessible as always.

Any ideas...?

Thanks,

Danny

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Selective sync problem - Cannot add new online folders to local PC ("Cannot access"

Super User II
Super User II

@DannyRo wrote:

... all their badges remain as the grey ONLINE sign, and every single file cannot be opened or accessed from my PC.