cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Learn more about how Connie, a member of the Community, uses Dropbox here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Smart sync not too smart

Smart sync not too smart

Bob76
New member | Level 2

So I have been using Dropbox for 10 years and last week received a new laptop and setup my Dropbox account onto it. During setup there is a lot about this Smart Sync. Didn't think too much of it initially and as usual had my main folder for work that I like to have on my SSD so that it is availble offline as I need access to the files frequently offline. Then noticed that the files are not available at all without an internet connection (after disconnecting my PC from the internet and testing). 

Must be nice working at Dropbox or living in their ideal world where the internet is always available and at a good speed but this is not the reality for a lot of people and certainly not for me traveling to different workplaces. 

I have since resolved the problem by disconnecting so called Smart Sync but Dropbox I think you need to be clearer to people loading in your software exactly what it is the Smart Sync is doing and the consequences of it. 

Further during setup when it asked if I would like to backup my Desktop, Documents and Downloads folders on my Windows PC I thought why not, only to find that it had deleted all my desktop icons, all my documents and downloads! I assume this is also part of the Smart Sync (said sarcastically). Again I have managed to re-instate them but what a waste of my time. 

Not so much a Smart Sync as Stupid Sync, thanks Dropbox for wasting my time. 

2 Replies 2

Re: Smart sync not too smart

Jay Rome
Explorer | Level 4