cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
We love to hear how every person gets the most from Dropbox, and it seems everyone has a slightly different use for it - tell us yours here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Smart sync not working correctly after disconnecting hard drive

Smart sync not working correctly after disconnecting hard drive

Casey83
Explorer | Level 3

My business Dropbox was working perfectly until today when I had to disconnect my hard drive (I have my Dropbox on an external drive, not ideal I know but it's worked fine up to this point). Upon reconnecting the drive, suddenly all the folders I had selected as online only on Smart Sync are being downloaded locally. I am a video editor and we use Dropbox for file storage and sharing, so this is many TB of data that I don't need and don't have the room for on my computer, hence the need for Smart Sync. Furthermore the files that I need to receive for my project today are at the bottom of the pile as it downloads all of these tens of thousands of other files I don't need! Even using Selective Sync to attempt to hide the files from my computer doesn't seem to work, it still is suddenly trying to sync 3 TB of data that I had set as online only. How do I fix this?? It only lets me select smart sync for some folders but not all, and no matter what I do the number of files syncing doesn't seem to change.

2 Replies 2

Re: Smart sync not working correctly after disconnecting hard drive

Rich
Super User II

@Casey83 wrote:

... I had to disconnect my hard drive (I have my Dropbox on an external drive, not ideal I know but it's worked fine up to this point).