cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

View, download, and export

Need support with viewing, downloading, and exporting files and folders from your Dropbox account? Find help from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Sync or Backup from D: drive?

Sync or Backup from D: drive?

mlpeterson
Explorer | Level 4
Go to solution

I'm new to Dropbox. I own three computers--a Home PC, Office PC, and laptop. I got Dropbox to achieve two main goals--1) to have backup security against data loss and (2) be able to access and work with data from any of my computers in an an efficient, organized way from any workstation.

I would appreciate help on 2 questions:

First, on my Home PC, I use solid state C: drive for operating system & programs and 😧 drive for data. I think my PC puts Desktop, Documents, and Downloads on C: although I don't create much data outside 😧 drive. My question is whether Dropbox can Sync or Backup from Desktop, Documents, and Downloads on C: AND my data on D:? I don't want to go down this road and find a dead end.

Second,  assuming that my question above does not lead to a dead end, then how might I best achieve my two goals? Is Sync or Backup better for this? Should I turn on sync on all three computers? Will that result in the My Dropbox Home Page listing the three computer names/identifiers--so that I can click on one name to get into the attached files? In advance, Sync would seem more straightforward and intuitive, but I worry that a mistaken deletion on DB or PC will just sync by deleting in the other location. I guess I'm wanting my files to live in two places--local and cloud--in a way that helps keep data safe and allows access from multiple locations.