cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Back again with another edition of 'How we use Dropbox', so find out how Emma uses to-do lists to get it all done here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Totally confused by basic set-up

Totally confused by basic set-up

Rudy Winston
Explorer | Level 4

Apologies for my Luddite-like inquiry here.

I am a photographer, and want to be able to simply create a folder with a subject's name (let's say it's a model whom I photographed, named John Smith).  I want to create a folder named "John Smith," put images into that folder, and then share or contact him, to let him access the images on his computer (or whatever device he's using).

I know this sounds hopelessly basic, but I'm having a lot of difficulty with an interface that seems (to me, anyway) very unintuitive.

I have a Basic dropbox account (not business).  I am NOT interested, at the moment, in using my phone for any of this;  just my desktop computer to create a folder, put images into it, link it to him/her, have an e-mail sent to them, and allow them to view and download the contents of that folder.  There are NO groups of people on the receiving end, just one person.

Biggest difficulty to me:  SETTING UP the named folder in the first place, THEN putting images into it, and finally sharing it with the person I'm trying to reach.  The screen seems determined to have me first link a folder, then send out an e-mail message, before I've had a chance to put anything into it.  

Any assistance on this most basic stuff is much appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: Totally confused by basic set-up

Walter
Dropboxer
Hi @Rudy Winston, welcome to the Community!