cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to know all about tools for creatives that work seamlessly with Dropbox, like Adobe? Well, check it out right here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unidentified folder that cannot be deleted

Unidentified folder that cannot be deleted

HHCC
New member | Level 2

Hello, I am new to Dropbox and trying to find my way around. I recently downloaded the app onto my Microsoft Surface laptop and found that it had downloaded a folder named "DESKTOP-720CA63" that had several files in it that I do not need or want on Dropbox (and that consumed my entire storage allowance of 2GB). I managed to figure out a way to permanently delete the individual files to free up space but I cannot delete the empty "DESKTOP-720CA63" folder. There is no delete option for this folder.

I subsequently deleted the desktop app and am only using Dropbox via the web application but I still cannot find a way to delete the folder.

Any ideas of (i) why it appeared in the first place and (ii) why I cannot delete it?

If I delete my Dropbox account, can I then create a new account using the same email address as the one used to create the original account?

1 Reply 1

Re: Unidentified folder that cannot be deleted

Rich
Super User II

@HHCC wrote:

I recently downloaded the app onto my Microsoft Surface laptop and found that it had downloaded a folder named "DESKTOP-720CA63" that had several files in it that I do not need or want on Dropbox

During the installation, you enabled the computer backup feature. It would have moved your Desktop, Documents and Downloads folders into a new folder in your Dropbox. That folder is the name of your computer.