In Windows Desktop env, when I delete a file with some application I get this warning: "Remove "__file__" from your Dropbox account and all devices?".
This doesn't happen with other application (Explorer, Total Commander).
Why? What is the difference?
Thanks in advance.
Hey @arucci, welcome back!
It sounds like you're seeing the message which notifies you that if you do want to delete that file from your Dropbox folder or Dropbox desktop app, it'll be removed from your account, including the website and any other connected device you have the desktop and mobile apps installed.
If you'd like me to double-check the message for you, please send me a screenshot (without any personal info) and I'd be more than happy to help.
Let me know how it goes!
Thanks for the screenshot, @arucci.
Yes, that's the one that notifies you that if you delete the file, it'll be removed from your account (the website and any other connected device).
Although it may not appear through a third party app directly, it may do so when you're using the desktop app or your File Explorer/Finder.
If it doesn't, could it be that the desktop app isn't running or syncing at that point in time?
Let me know what you find!
Maybe I understand: the message is shown when the deleted file is not yet fully synchronized. In fact, it often happens on large files that I save in the dropbox folder and delete after a while.
If so, I think the message is not clear: it should refer to the fact that the file is not fully synchronized.
Thanks for writing back, @arucci.
If the file hasn't fully synced to your account online, there's no record of it on your Dropbox account yet, and the message may not appear.
In general, the notification should pop up if you remove a file from your Dropbox folder. This would include:
If it doesn't, please let me know what the Dropbox icon reads when you hover over it and I'll be more than happy to have another look into this with you.
Similar to the user who posted this question, I was getting the same messages and I understood what it meant. However, I clicked the "Do not ask again button" and clicked the "Move out of Dropbox" button. How do I get this pop up message to start appearing again?
Hey @msh313; I'm sorry for the late reply.
Are you still having issues with this?
Yes, that was exactly what I was asking @msh313.
In that case, could you re-install the app and let me know if this option comes back?
If it doesn't, you may need to perform a clean, advanced re-install.
Keep us posted anyhow.
The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.Sound good? Let's get started.
For more info on available support options, see this article.
If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!