cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close

Dropbox files & folders

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

What happens when I delete shared folders and files?

New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

I was provided access to files and folders.  When I delete the files, does it delete them for everyone that has shared access to the folder?  What about permanently deleted files?  Can the other members still access those under their deleted folder?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Deleted Shared Folder and Files

Super User
Super User

Hey @Rever3, If you have Edit permission, once you delete something, it will also be deleted for every member of the shared folder. However, you won't be able to permanently delete a file unless you are a owner of the shared folder. All members can see the deleted files in Deleted Files tab, and restore them within the time frame (which is 30 days for Basic and Plus users, and 120 days for Business and Pro users). 

 

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9
Highlighted

Re: Deleted Shared Folder and Files

Super User
Super User

Hey @Rever3, If you have Edit permission, once you delete something, it will also be deleted for every member of the shared folder. However, you won't be able to permanently delete a file unless you are a owner of the shared folder. All members can see the deleted files in Deleted Files tab, and restore them within the time frame (which is 30 days for Basic and Plus users, and 120 days for Business and Pro users). 

 

View solution in original post

Highlighted

Re: Deleted Shared Folder and Files

New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

Good to know.  Thank you for your quick response!

Highlighted

Re: Deleted Shared Folder and Files

New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

How can I tell if I have editing priviledges? And if I do,  how can I delelte files and folders that were shared with me from my dropbox without deleting them for everyone else? Thanks.

Highlighted

Re: Deleted Shared Folder and Files

Dropboxer
Dropboxer
Hi there @trophy!
 
You can check if you have edit or view-only privileges by:
  1. Sign in to dropbox.com. 
  2. Click on the Files tab. 
  3. Locate the shared folder/file in question. 
  4. By hovering over it you will see the Share option appear - click on it. 
  5. A pop up window will appear. Find your account listed, and you should be able to see can edit or can view. 
To find more info on how to remove shared content, check this Help Center article out. 
 
Hope this helped!

Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Highlighted

Re: Deleted Shared Folder and Files

New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

...thanks Lusil, that helps.

Best,

T.

Highlighted

Re: Deleted Shared Folder and Files

New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

hmmm... you mean if I were the owner of the share folder, then I delete the folder, then all member will lose their shared folder also, don't you?

Highlighted

Re: Deleted Shared Folder and Files

Super User II
Super User II

@leilfataya wrote:

you mean if I were the owner of the share folder, then I delete the folder, then all member will lose their shared folder also, don't you?


No. If you simply delete the folder, you're removing it for just you and you'll have the ability to add it back to your Dropbox later. Other members will retain their access to the folder.

If you delete the content of the shared folder, that deletion would sync to all members and their copy of the files would be deleted as well.

Highlighted

Re: Deleted Shared Folder and Files

New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

Hi. To clarify the point about deleting files in a shared folder, I think what you are saying is that as a person with edit rights, I can delete any files in the folder that I or others have created. All files I delete are placed in the deleted files section for a period of time. The files I delete that were created by me will automatically be permanently deleted after a set number of days. The files I delete for which I am not the creator will remain in the deleted file section until the creator of that file goes into the deleted file section and permanenly deletes the file. Is this correct?  

Highlighted

Re: Deleted Shared Folder and Files

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

You're on the mark, @swhill

 

You can find more info about how to delete files, in this article, and what happens to them, in this one

 

Also, you can check out some additional info on the permissions that editors and viewers of a shared folder have, here

 

Let me know if you have any other questions, thanks!


Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?