cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to know all about tools for creatives that work seamlessly with Dropbox, like Adobe? Well, check it out right here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Word and Excel files will not open

Word and Excel files will not open

TamarinCDS
New member | Level 2

I am having an issue when opening a saved Word/Excel document in Dropbox. It would usually open straight away, now Dropbox is telling me I need a commercial account for Microsoft Word etc?? this has not ever happened before. I have a current home subscription which has worked for over a year. This is for a business Dropbox account.

5 Replies 5

Re: Word and Excel files will not open

Walter
Dropboxer
Hello there @TamarinCDS, welcome aboard and thanks for using Dropbox!

Can you please clarify if you're doing this via our desktop app on your computer or maybe through a web browser on our website? 

If you could also include a screenshot of the exact error you're getting, I'd appreciate it. 

Thanks!

PS: You can find more information about our Microsoft Office integrations here.

Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

TamarinCDS
New member | Level 2

TamarinCDS_0-1619591277763.png

Here is my error that I am getting trying to open an excel file, happens as well for a word file, this has never happened before, I already have a current Microsoft subscription.

This is for the online web Dropbox

Walter
Dropboxer
Thanks for the screenshot @TamarinCDS!