cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
If you're up against the clock to get holiday ready, so here are some tips on how to use Dropbox to make your prep easy! Check them out!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: cancel pc backup

timq
Explorer | Level 3

I apparently selected pc backup when I installed Dropbox and naturally I'm out of storage on my Dropbox account now.  I don't want and have no need to have my pc backed up to it.  I have the desktop app but am not able to find the preferences section to stop it from backing up.  I did try just deleting My PC from Dropbox but a message comes up and says if I delete "My PC" it says it will be removed from my Dropbox and from the computer.  If I delete it in Dropbox, does that mean I'll lose everything on my laptop too?  Sorry if it sounds like a newbie question but I am. 🙂 Any help stopping the PC backup would be greatly appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: cancel pc backup

Jay
Dropboxer
Hi @timq, after clicking the system tray icon, did you click the icon on the top right to then view the Preferences option, and then the Backup section?

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Re: cancel pc backup

Hannah
Dropboxer
Hey @timq, welcome aboard our Community!

Indeed, with computer backup, if you delete your desktop files from Dropbox, they will also be deleted from your computer. 

If you want to disable the backup feature, you can follow the steps here.

You'll find the Dropbox app's preferences, if you click on the Dropbox icon in your system tray.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Hannah
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Re: cancel pc backup

timq
Explorer | Level 3

When I click on the icon in the system tray, the window that comes up does not have a Backups tab.

Re: cancel pc backup

Jay
Dropboxer
Hi @timq, after clicking the system tray icon, did you click the icon on the top right to then view the Preferences option, and then the Backup section?

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

View solution in original post

Re: cancel pc backup

timq
Explorer | Level 3

Told you I was a newbie lol.  Turns out I was not clicking the Dropbox icon in the system tray but the one in the taskbar.  Thanks so much for all y'all's help.  Got it changed.

Re: cancel pc backup

stuarts14
Explorer | Level 3

What an absolute fiasco!

 

These instructions are UNCLEAR and AMBIGUOUS.

 

I've wasted my time on this, and now I have NO IDEA if my files are safe from being deleted by drop box.

Re: cancel pc backup

eschurr
New member | Level 2

i agree!  i'm computer savvy and i have spent a long time trying to figure this out and i'm still baffled.  I vaguely remember being prompted by Dropbox to backup my PC, but the notification was an interruption to what i was doing and i just clicked "OK" to get rid of it....now i regret that. I can not figure out how to simply say "stop backing up everything."  I've gone to the Backups tab in the Preferences setting of the desktop app but there's no obvious way to just turn it all off.  When i open the tab everything is checked.  If i uncheck the choices, the Save button is disabled.  My only option now is to pause syncing, but that pauses everything!  Please help.

Need more support?