Hi @paradisirafa, your files in Dropbox will remain as long as your account is active. You are referring to the history retaintion for deleted files, not the existing contents of Dropbox. If you delete a file, it is possible to restore that file up to 30 days from the date of deletion for a free/basic account. Note that if you don't login to your account for long period of time, your account eventually get deactivated and contents deleted. To prevent that you need to login to your account once in a while.
What I would say to add to the above is that files are only kept on ACTIVE accounts - so you need to be logging in regularily.
Also, note that the T&C's DO state that Dropbox can remove files to bring you under quota, so, I would be cautious with this approach - especially if you will be massivley over quota when downgrading. Dropbox would email you first, however.
- - - -
Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below.
Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Did this post not resolve your issue? If so please give us some more information so we can try and help - please remember we cannot see over your shoulder so be as descriptive as possible!