cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Learn all about how Alex on the Community team used Dropbox in college here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

transfer/copying stopped because of invalid characters?!!

transfer/copying stopped because of invalid characters?!!

Kristof VDK
New member | Level 2

dear all

I am new to dropbox and started enthusiastically transfering folders from my home server/Macbook to dropbox. However, the transfer got stuck in the middle. Somes files could not be copied because the name contained characters that are invalid??!! See picture.

So the transfer/copying stopped, and I got only half of the folder on dropbox...

What to do?

Thank you in advance!

Kristof

PS using business version of dropbox

Bildschirmfoto 2021-01-26 um 22.15.30.png

2 Replies 2

Re: transfer/copying stopped because of invalid characters?!!

Kristof VDK
New member | Level 2

and by the way, when I try to transfer the file 'with the invalid characters' in its name, only, then it works. The message only comes wenn I try to transfer the entire subfolder. 

Since I do have many folders, subfolders and files, I cannot manually transfer the files, i do need to be able to tarnsfer an entire folder, which works for most files, except for some of the filenames (see picture), without any evident reason.

Re: transfer/copying stopped because of invalid characters?!!

Walter
Dropboxer
Hi @Kristof VDK; welcome to our Community!

Can you please walk me through the exact steps you take that result in this error?

Also, can you clarify if you're getting this for only a specific package files or other types of files or folders as well? 

Keep us posted!

Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox