cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Whether you are transferring a single drive, a team or an entire organization, Movebot's cloud migration tool has been built to make your Dropbox migration simple - learn all about it here.

Dropbox installs & integrations

Connect your tools and content together with help from the Dropbox Community. Join a discussion or post a question of your own to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I disable the "Delete file for everyone" message?

Can I disable the "Delete file for everyone" message?

maxvan
New member | Level 2

I am getting the error message that requires me to OK "delete for everyone" when I want  to remove a file (see below). I saw the discussion board on this topic - the screen shots in the thread I read show an option to remove the message in the future. I do not see that option displayed. I need to remove this message. How?

 

Screenshot 2019-08-13 08.08.43.png

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: Delete for everyone

Daphne
Dropboxer

Hey @maxvan,

As I mentioned previously, there isn't an option to disable to notification you're seeing there at the moment. The "Delete everywhere" notification that has been discussed on the Community does have this option. However the notification you're seeing is a different one that currently doesn't have the option to disable it.

Sorry that I can't help any further with this!


Daphne
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Re: Delete for everyone

Daphne
Dropboxer

Hey there @maxvan,

The notification you're seeing is because the file you're deleting is shared with other users. The discussions I believe you're referring to is the "Delete everywhere" message that has been discussed previously on the Community.

The "Delete everywhere" message can be disabled by checking the appropriate option within the dialogue box of the message. However, there currently isn't a way to disable the specific notification that you are seeing there.

I've made sure to pass this along to our dev team for review to see if this can be implemented in a future version of the desktop app. Sorry that I can be of much more help here!

Let me know if you have any other questions - Thanks!


Daphne
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Re: Delete for everyone

maxvan
New member | Level 2

Hi Daphne,

 

Thank you. Unfortunately there is no checkbox within the dialogue box I see in the desktop version. This message appears everytime I delete a file which indeed is shared with other users. What solution exists to solve this? It is very time consuming to click repeatedly on this dialogue box.

Thank you

Re: Delete for everyone

Daphne
Dropboxer

Hey @maxvan,

As I mentioned previously, there isn't an option to disable to notification you're seeing there at the moment. The "Delete everywhere" notification that has been discussed on the Community does have this option. However the notification you're seeing is a different one that currently doesn't have the option to disable it.

Sorry that I can't help any further with this!


Daphne
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Re: Delete for everyone

maxvan
New member | Level 2

OK  I hope this gets fixed soon. It is new to me - perhaps because I upgraded to Windows 10 recently.

Please remove the 'Delete for Everyone' message

Darren R.
Explorer | Level 4

I am in the process of deleting approx. 2,000 files. Every 30-50 files, I have to answer the question whether I want to delete them for everyone. I mean, '46 others'. Which others? I don't even know, so the message is totally useless. Please can you make it go away? Just delete them for everyone, every time. Nobody is ever going to want to click 'cancel' on this dialog.

 

delete-them-all.png

Re: Please remove the 'Delete for Everyone' message

arathra
Explorer | Level 4

I've got to ask the same question. It's a pain in the arse to have this message pop up every few minutes with no option to disable.

Re: Delete for everyone

DWW
New member | Level 2

This is unacceptable, how can it be communicated to DropBox to eliminate this defect (defaulting to this message)?

 

Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    DWW New member | Level 2
  • User avatar
    arathra Explorer | Level 4
  • User avatar
    Darren R. Explorer | Level 4
  • User avatar
    maxvan New member | Level 2
  • User avatar
    Daphne Dropboxer
What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?