cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Learn all about how Alex on the Community team used Dropbox in college here!

Dropbox installs & integrations

Connect your tools and content together with help from the Dropbox Community. Join a discussion or post a question of your own to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can no longer connect to Dropbox

Can no longer connect to Dropbox

mortstiff
Helpful | Level 6

I've been using Dropbox free for several years to sync files between my two laptops. Since yesterday, I kept getting a message on one laptop 'connecting' and it wouldn't sync. I uninstalled it and installed the latest version 105.4.649 and now I keep getting a message 'starting.' I logged out and logged back in, still got 'starting,' and then a popup message 'No Internet connection. You computer is currently offline...' yet I had an Internet connection. I've only used about half of the available space in my account.  (Windows 10)

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: Can no longer connect to Dropbox

mortstiff
Helpful | Level 6

I discovered the solution, which is simple.  I went to preferences-->proxy and changed 'detect proxy' to 'manual' and viola the problem was solved.

Meanwhile, Dropbox support recommended clean install, registry changes, firewall unblocking (already was), etc., etc.  - no clue.

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

scarsong
New member | Level 2

I suggest you reinstall the WIN10 system. Before that, you can try to log in to your dropbox account on the computer of your friend or relative to see if the problem is resolved.

Jay
Dropboxer

Hi @mortstiff, thanks for posting on the Community!