cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Learn all about apps and Dropbox integrations to make working from home easy here!

Dropbox installs & integrations

Connect your tools and content together with help from the Dropbox Community. Join a discussion or post a question of your own to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change Desktop App Root Folder Name

Change Desktop App Root Folder Name

brodyjdavis
Helpful | Level 5

Im a freelancer jumping onto a job thats already in production. Id like to use the desktop app and have it pathed the same way as everyone else on the job but the default root folder name generated by the installer is different. I can move the root folder install easy enough but I cant change the name of it to match. 
Is there a way to do this? I would grealtly appreciate being able to alter the file path to match so Im not having to relink assets throughout production. 

The auto-generated root name: D:\Word Word Dropbox\JobName\files
What I am trying to change to: D:\Dropbox\JobName\Files

seems like it would be a simple setting

7 Replies 7

Re: Change Desktop App Root Folder Name

Jay
Dropboxer
Hi @brodyjdavis, thanks for messaging today!

If you're using the Dropbox desktop application, you can move the Dropbox folder to the D:. 

When selecting the folder, make sure to just select D, and not inside a subfolder. 

Keep me updated with any progress!

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

brodyjdavis
Helpful | Level 5

I believe you are not understanding the issue, Im not attempting to move the folder, Im attempting to rename the root folder.