cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Learn all about how Alex on the Community team used Dropbox in college here!

Dropbox installs & integrations

Connect your tools and content together with help from the Dropbox Community. Join a discussion or post a question of your own to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Desktop app with multiple Dropbox accounts

Desktop app with multiple Dropbox accounts

maureenS
Explorer | Level 4

I have three Dropbox accounts linked to 3 different emails. I have used Dropbox since the beginning of Dropbox to give you an idea that I'm not a total newbie.  I am unable to toggle between the three accounts using the Desktop app.  When unlinking "this Dropbox" to my Macbook Pro, the entire icon disappears once I chooose "Unlink This Dropbox." The desktop application in the system becomes unresponsive. The only way I can have the Desktop work again is to re-install the Desktop App. I hae done this 3 times, and each time, my one and original email is syncing again. I never sync to the other two emails when re-installing the app even though I install through the other email account's link in settings. In System Preferences, in Users & Groups, in Login, Dropbox shows only one email in the lower left corner, which is logical. I have never signed in to the other two email accounts using the Desktop App.

Right now, the only way for me to access the other two accounts is through the URL for Dropbox signin. How do I enable the ability to toggle between the three accounts using the Desktop app? Or can I not do this?

6 Replies 6

Re: Desktop app with multiple Dropbox accounts

Daphne
Dropboxer

Hi there @maureenS, thanks for reaching out to us here!