Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Dropbox lack of user empathy when syncing more than 500k files?

Helpful | Level 6

Am I missing something?  I really hope so.

I've been using Dropbox for several years all-in personally.  The base product works well...when it works.

Last year, I discovered the hard way that they only support 500k # sync'd files.  I found out after I'd been successfully sincing 1M+ # files without error for years when DB app crashed.  Then I discovered DB support won't do anything to help you if you have problems while sync'ing more than 500k # files.

There are painful ways to then try and fix problems...I've spent literally months learning the hard way.  What really surprises me is the lack of information they provide to users....almost a reluctance to do so.  Why does the app not tell you want files it's currently syncing, indexing, etc?  When it crashes, why is there no log or any additional info?  I've tried and tried and support basically says, "you're right; I wish we had this info too, but the developers don't provide it."   [profanity removed as per Community Guidelines]!

The only reason I'm sticking with DB so far is they can support large files.  Microsoft OneDrive is about to up their limit to 100GB (not ideal, but workable).  When they do, I feel like DB has given me no choice but to switch.

Am I missing some wonderful debugging tools or hidden log files?  

5 Replies 5
Highlighted

Re: Dropbox lack of user empathy when syncing more than 500k files?

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Hi there @geekforlife, I hope you're well today!

There is a soft limit for the desktop app, as its performance can decline when it's syncing more than 300,000 files.