cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Back again with another edition of 'How we use Dropbox', so find out how Ross uses Dropbox to answer some new house questions here!

Dropbox installs & integrations

Connect your tools and content together with help from the Dropbox Community. Join a discussion or post a question of your own to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Duplicating folder names

Duplicating folder names

Dan P.1
New member | Level 1

I'm new to dropbox today. I got set up and started uploading all my photos on my harddrive. This was going well for quite a few hours. But then I made the mistake of renaming the main folder on the dropbox website and now the whole thing has gone mad. All my sub folders have started duplicating so they are showing as May 2014 photo (1) and May photo (2) etc. Help!

5 Replies 5

Re: Duplicating folder names

DaveC2
New member | Level 1

You are experiencing a dual direction syncing conflict.

This is because folders technically dont exist in the DB cloud, just filenames that include the foldername.
So when a folder via web is renamed each file in it gets its path part of the filename changed, and a new local folder and files are generated to match, and the old files removed.

Your problem is the old folder has other files still going up, so you end up with the old folder name reappearing on the web and the new folder name appearing locally.

Solution : in the old folder name on the LOCAL machine, MOVE all files to the NEW folder, then await sync, then clean up any old folder names left over.

If you end up with (x) at the end that you dont want do the following.
1. Pause local syncing
2. rename via web the foldername
3 rename locally the foldername to match
4. resume local syncing, and await the resync process (which will say its uploading and download, but isnt)

Dan P.1
New member | Level 1