cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Apps and Installations

Have a question about a Dropbox app or installation? Reach out to the Dropbox Community and get solutions, help, and advice from members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I get an error "this operation isn't permitted" when moving folders

I get an error "this operation isn't permitted" when moving folders

Tim S.51
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

I am trying to move folders from my original personal dropbox account to the new team dropbox folder I created. I am a Pro user.

The first few folders copied without incident. However, a couple more that I want to move won't,. I simply get an error, "This operation isn't permitted."

What is not permitted about this, and why did the original folder moves go without incident. I don't believe I am over my TB limit.

PROLOGUE: On a whim, I was able to move the folders by copying them to my desktop, then copying them from there into Dropbox. So, I got my mission accomplished. But I am still curious about why "permission" was not granted.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

dolphin66
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

I created a dropbox account for 1 purpose only and therefore I am very much a newbie. I am not familiar with much of dropbox, account types, terminology, so sorry if this ends up being off topic.

I experienced this error and discovered the solution for my situation.