cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Learn all about how Alex on the Community team used Dropbox in college here!

Dropbox installs & integrations

Connect your tools and content together with help from the Dropbox Community. Join a discussion or post a question of your own to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

If I rename the shared folder on my new log in will the original be deleted?

If I rename the shared folder on my new log in will the original be deleted?

Extreme Marc
New member | Level 2

Hello there, any help would be appreciated.

We're a small business we're new to dropbox. I've been accidentally logged in on a colleagues account since I first started. I'm now signed in on my own account however after dropbox prompting me to install desktop dropbox again a message window has appeared stating that "there's already a folder named 'Work folder' Dropbox will rename your existing folder named "Work folder" to finish installing."  There there are two boxes to choose from to click "Choose Another Location" or "Rename" what shall I do. I don't what to do the wrong one and end up deleting a load of files.

 

Many thanks in advance.

 

Extreme Marc

3 Replies 3

Re: If I rename the shared folder on my new log in will the original be deleted?

Jay
Dropboxer

Hi @Extreme Marc, thanks for posting today!

 

In order to assist further, could you clarify if you're talking about a shared folder on your Dropbox account, or a brand new Dropbox folder when installing the app?

 

Since you mentioned both in your post, it would help to know which one so that I can provide right answer.

 

Keep me updated!


Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Re: If I rename the shared folder on my new log in will the original be deleted?

Extreme Marc
New member | Level 2

Thanks for replying Jay,

 

The original folder is a shared folder that is accessible by 3 accounts, when I realised I was logged in on the same account as a colleague I signed out of his and signed into my own. Dropbox then prompted me to install the Dropbox Desktop (which I already had from using the other account) and upon doing so it now shows the attached message. I haven't gone any further than this point as I don't want to accidently delete over 10 years worth of files in the folder. 2021-01-04.jpg 

Re: If I rename the shared folder on my new log in will the original be deleted?

Jay
Dropboxer

Okay, so it's referring to renaming the entire local Dropbox folder, since the old Dropbox folder was from your colleague.

 

Choose the option to rename the folder. This will rename the Dropbox folder to one with (Old) at the end.

 

That folder will contain your colleagues files, so it can then be deleted if you wish without affecting the site. The new Dropbox folder which will be created will be the one for your account, syncing to the site.


Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Poll
Do you work or study in the creative industry? If so, which area?
If you use Adobe, don't forget to check out our latest integrations update here.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?