Sounds like theres actually no link, but, that at some point he has actually installed Dropbox on a machine you had installed Dropbox on without removing your files first. Therefore it simply reuploaded them to his account.
You should be able to test that by creating a folder on your account and seeing it isnt on his.
Dropbox is not installed on my colleague's machine; everything he views is in the cloud.
When I add a new folder to my list, he does not see it.
When I delete from my dropbox, he does not see the change.
The folders he is viewing are not Shared folders.
It appears that he is viewing an "old" version of my dropbox.
Can I delete my Dropbox account, and reinstate it with a new login and password? Would I lose my Terabyte of space?
It is our impression that there's a data breach/bug in your system that allowed files to be shared inadvertently. I am unable to determine any other explanation. I'd expect someone to contact me by email with a phone number so we can have a conversation.
[This thread is now closed by moderators due to inactivity. If you're experiencing a similar behavior, feel free to start a new discussion in the Ask a Question section here.]
Work Smarter with Dropbox
The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.