cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Learn all about apps and Dropbox integrations to make working from home easy here!

Dropbox installs & integrations

Connect your tools and content together with help from the Dropbox Community. Join a discussion or post a question of your own to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there Developer Documentation for working with Smart Sync files?

Is there Developer Documentation for working with Smart Sync files?

batsonjay
Explorer | Level 4

User story: As a developer, I'd like to have the developer documentation required to detect from within my application software whether a file is being (actively) selectively synced with Dropbox so that my software can treat those files as (effectively) having a size of zero bytes on disk.

Background: GrandPerspective is an open source filesystem visualizer that graphically displays the disk usage of a file system. (MacOS only.)  Currently, GrandPerspective considers a file that is selectively-synced as occupying space on disc equal to the file size of the file as-if it were local. It is unaware that the local copy of a file is actually only a placeholder that (effectively) uses zero bytes on disk.

Is there an existing listing (or is it possible to get (here) a listing) of the operating system services, data types, etc. to detect the existince, and attributes of a selectively sync'd file sufficiently to be able to treat it as using zero bytes on disk?

(Or, better, is there any interested engineer at Dropbox that wants to write a patch & submit it to the repo for GrandPerspective?  Note that I have an open ticket on this issue here.)

For my purposes, I only need MacOS information (though others may be interested in Windows / Linux).

Thanks in advance.

7 Replies 7

Re: Is there Developer Documentation for working with Smart Sync files?

Greg-DB
Dropboxer