cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Metadata Bug with Photos

New member | Level 1
New member | Level 1

I'm a pro user with several hundred GB of photos and videos in Dropbox.  I engaged Dropbox support to investigate why many of my photos and videos seemed to be missing from the "photos" view.  They looked into it, and told me that my photos and videos weren't missing, but that they were in the "no timestamps" section, because they didn't have timestamp metadata.  After I gave them dumps from Exiftool showing that the "missing" photos and videos actually had metadata (many are just uploaded from my iPhone), they acknowledged an apparent bug and said they'd look into it.

It's been about a month and a half now, and I've heard nothing.  I write them every so often, and get what appears to be a canned response back, making me wonder if they're understaffed.  (The cancellation of Carousel might also seem to indicate some revenue issues within Dropbox.)  I don't have confidence they're actually working on it.

Has anyone else experienced this metadata problem?  Photos and videos that you know to be present (you can find them in your folders view) that don't show up in your "photos" view?  Way too many photos in your "missing timestamps" section?  I'm curious to know if this is widespread.  If it's just some issue peculiar to my account, that might also explain why they're dragging their feet.

Thanks,

Mike

24 Replies 24
Highlighted

Re: Metadata Bug with Photos

Helpful | Level 6