Hi Dropboxer Lusil,
I am completely dropped of using dropbox!!!!
I wonder why you did such a thing? I am sorry but it is really confusing. When I want to delete any file from my computer, I can delete myself, I don't need your help, it is simple.. And, when I want to delete any file from dropbox I delete it from dropbox. But after this update, I can't use the system. Because I don't want any file to be deleted from my computer due to any external confusion......
Regarding the new pop-up when I delete a file or folder. It informs me of "selective sync"; then to continue with the deletion I need to click a button labeled, "Delete everywhere". The button label needs to be changed or explained within the dialog box.
I think and hope it means "Delete from this folder everywhere on Dropbox"
Example of situation: I have a file in two folders and want to delete it from one of the folders, and I want it deleted from that folder on all my devices, but I don't want that file deleted from any other folder on Dropbox. The button label says it will delete from "everywhere"; that implies that it will delete the file from all folders on Dropbox, and even includes the possibility of deleting from non-Dropbox folders on my computer.
Please confirm or correct my assumption that it means, "Delete from this folder everywhere on Dropbox"
Yes, you're spot on Steve (@Steve J.20) - this refers to your Dropbox account and all linked devices (only affecting files within your Dropbox Folder of course). Supposing you have more than one linked devices to your account, the file will be removed from all of them ( that's what everywhere means).
I hope this clears things up for you and I am also passing your comments along to our dev team for future consideration, thanks for this valuable feedback.
If there's anything else I can help with, please let me know Steve. Thanks!
If you check the box to not be asked again, how do you get the dialog back in future? I want to delete a file from just my computer, but I think I told the dialog not to ask in future, and I can't find any other way to perform that action or any way of getting the dialog back.
If this does not help, could you also try an advanced re-install?
Please keep us posted on the matter Andi.
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below.
Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Still stuck? Ask me a question! (Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)
I am still v confused re this new pop up.
I have files saved in dropbox AND the same file saved on my computer.
If, from my windws pc, I want to delete the file in my dropbox but not on my computer - I don't know whether this "selective sync" will delete the file on the computer when I delete from dropbox. Please explain.
The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.Sound good? Let's get started.
For more info on available support options, see this article.
If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!