cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to know all about tools for creatives that work seamlessly with Dropbox, like Adobe? Well, check it out right here!

Dropbox installs & integrations

Connect your tools and content together with help from the Dropbox Community. Join a discussion or post a question of your own to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem working with Excel on Dropbox

Problem working with Excel on Dropbox

Carey0711
New member | Level 2

When i try and open excel files in dropbox it says it cant open because file format or file extension is not valid. I have been using dropbox and excel for 3 months and have never had this problem before. Any ideas? Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: Problem working with Excel on Dropbox

Walter
Dropboxer

Hey there @Carey0711  - sorry to hear about this.

Could you send me a screenshot of the exact error you get so that I can get a better understanding of the matter at hand?

While you're at it, could you let me know the exact status of the desktop app on your computer? Is it 'up to date' or still syncing changes?

Does it persist for all of your Excel files, some or just one? Do those preview normally on our website? 

On a side note, could you try shortening the filepaths perhaps, by simply renaming the file to a shorter name, renaming a folder to a shorter name, or reducing the number of sub-folders?

Spoiler