cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Apps and Installations

Have a question about a Dropbox app or installation? Reach out to the Dropbox Community and get solutions, help, and advice from members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: So the green check mark means the file is SYnCED? NO!!!!!

Why do I see a green check on my Desktop file?

dukeeastwood
Explorer | Level 3

I'm new to dropbox and just found out the actual app is no longer a thing and we are all stuck with the explorer file folder.

So I copy a file from dropbox to my desktop... the file gains an "X" in the bottom corner and a transfer window stays stuck at 0%... okay(????)

I close the stuck transfer window, now the file has a green check mark in it's bottom left corner (?!?!?) I copy it to my desktop once again... it transfer to my desktop instantly. So I google "What does this green check mark mean."

"A solid green circle with a white checkmark means your file or folder is fully synced and local. “Synced” means that any changes you made to this file or folder are reflected everywhere you access your files in Dropbox. “Local” means that your file or folder is available when you’re not connected to internet."

REALLY? REALLLY???????? I DON'T WANT THAT!!!!!! I want to make a COPY of the file... I don't need the file to be synced and be altered by me!!!!!!!!! What is this????????? Is this true?????  I need to copy files and NOT alter them in any way shape or form; why would me copying a file mean anything I do to it will be reflected everywhere across the dropbox folder... WHY NOT JUST COPY IT?????

10 Replies 10

ellon_john1
Explorer | Level 3

green check mark mean that your file Is successfully upload in dropbox and save it.

dukeeastwood