cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Learn all about how Alex on the Community team used Dropbox in college here!

Dropbox installs & integrations

Connect your tools and content together with help from the Dropbox Community. Join a discussion or post a question of your own to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why does dropboxupdatehelper.msi use mountvol.exe to mount the EFI System Partition on Windows?

Why does dropboxupdatehelper.msi use mountvol.exe to mount the EFI System Partition on Windows?

Seraph
New member | Level 2

I'm a security analyst trying to understand why dropboxupdatehelper.msi mounts the EFI System Partition.  I'm assuming that it does this by design - but I don't understand why.  The alternative is that I've got something pretending to be dropbox manipulating the EFI System Partition in my environment.  

Does anyone know why/if this might be done by the dropbox app on a Windows system?

Thank you for any clue you can provide!

3 Replies 3

Re: Why does dropboxupdatehelper.msi use mountvol.exe to mount the EFI System Partition on Windows?

Daphne
Dropboxer

Hey there @Seraph, thanks for reaching out to us here!

Just to make sure we're on the same page, would you mind sending me a few screenshots of what you're seeing there?

Also, which version of the app do you have installed at the moment?

Looking forward to hearing back from you!

Daphne
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Re: Why does dropboxupdatehelper.msi use mountvol.exe to mount the EFI System Partition on Windows?

Seraph
New member | Level 2

Hi,