cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to know all about tools for creatives that work seamlessly with Dropbox, like Adobe? Well, check it out right here!

Dropbox installs & integrations

Connect your tools and content together with help from the Dropbox Community. Join a discussion or post a question of your own to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iPad2 suddenly incompatible and unable to finish months of work!!

iPad2 suddenly incompatible and unable to finish months of work!!

jongas
New member | Level 2

I am a musician and have 2 months work waiting to be mastered which I cannot as I am told my ipad is suddenly no longer compatible. I record with other people and use dropbox to link Garageband, Audio Share and Auria. I was advised to re-install dropbox and now have no means of finishing my album.

4 Replies 4

Re: iPad2 suddenly incompatible and unable to finish months of work!!

Rich
Super User II

@jongas wrote:

... I am told my ipad is suddenly no longer compatible.

Dropbox requires iOS 12.1 at a minimum. The iPad 2 can only run up to iOS 9.3.5, which hasn't been supported by Apple for years. Dropbox hasn't been compatible on an iPad 2 for quite a long time. While the app may have continued working for a while, there have likely been changes in how Dropbox works that now prevents the app from working on such an old version of the operating system.

jongas
New member | Level 2

So we have to throw away our perfectly good ipads?

pvdk2
New member | Level 2

When is the Dropbox app designed to be downwards compatible (with e.g. iOS 9.3) or allow the download of older versions? I hope the Dropbox company supports the environment and does everything to prevent electronics from being dumped because of bad software practices. 

prt56Ysdf93kol
New member | Level 2