cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Check out the Dropbox cheat sheet for getting started in 2021 here!

Dropbox teams & admins

Got a question about your Dropbox Business account? Get help from users like you. Post a question to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Deleting a team member and their files when they aren't an owner.

Deleting a team member and their files when they aren't an owner.

Explorer | Level 3

I have a team member that I deleted and moved their files to my folder. When I look at what they have I see that they only have files shared with them and they aren't the owner of any of the files. If I delete their files/folders will other team members lose access to any of the shared documents?

Thank you,

Terri

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: Deleting a team member and their files when they aren't an owner.

Dropboxer

Hi there @thaswell

That's right, when content from a previously deleted member's account is transfered, ownership of shared folders that they had is also applied. 

In general, if you delete a file in a shared folder, it'll be deleted for other members. You can find more info about this here

If you don't want to have access to these shared foldes, you can remove yourself as shown in this article

Let me know if you have any other questions. Thanks!


Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

Re: Deleting a team member and their files when they aren't an owner.

Dropboxer

Hi there @thaswell

That's right, when content from a previously deleted member's account is transfered, ownership of shared folders that they had is also applied. 

In general, if you delete a file in a shared folder, it'll be deleted for other members. You can find more info about this here

If you don't want to have access to these shared foldes, you can remove yourself as shown in this article

Let me know if you have any other questions. Thanks!


Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

View solution in original post

Re: Deleting a team member and their files when they aren't an owner.

Explorer | Level 3

Thanks for the quick response! I was asking about a member that wasn't an owner (they only have files shared with them and they aren't the owner of any of the files.)I just removed myself from the list of who it was shared with and that seems to have done the trick. Thx!

Re: Deleting a team member and their files when they aren't an owner.

Dropboxer

Glad to hear that, @thaswell

I just wanted to clarify that if a member of a shared folder has edit permissions, even though they may not be the owner, they can change the contents of the folder (including deleting items) and those changes will sync for others. 

If you have any other questions in the future, don't hesitate to get back to me. 

In the meantime, have a wonderful day ahead!


Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?