cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close

Dropbox teams & admins

Got a question about your Dropbox Business account? Get help from users like you. Post a question to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

How can I check past user activity? How far back?

New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

How can I checkpast user activity? I was logged in to Dropbox and received a popup message saying that a former team member (dismissed months ago) had updated a file.  I was in the middle of converting to Dropbox Business, but found his remaining file access and deleted it. When I went to check to see what he had accessed I did not see ANY activity for him. I checked other team members (that I know recently uploaded files) and they were not present in the activity list from the console either.  What is the historical data available and how is it accessed? Does deleting a team member delte their history also?

1 Reply 1
Highlighted

Re: How can I check past user activity? How far back?

Dropboxer
Dropboxer
Hey @UBlake, all great questions, I’ll try to address them separately below & we’ll take it based on your findings; I hope my message finds you well!
 

How can I checkpast user activity? I was logged in to Dropbox and received a popup message saying that a former team member (dismissed months ago) had updated a file. 

While you could navigate on the file’s Activity to see whether the user in question still accesses it & the last update your ex-colleague made, it would be worth noting that you should also be able to retrieve all relevant details surrounding their access through the Activity tab on your admin console (i.e. assuming that at the time of the edit you had the Business plan attached to your account). 
 

What is the historical data available and how is it accessed? Does deleting a team member delte their history also?
All data pertaining to a team member’s activity retain continuity for as long as the upgrade is registered for this account & can be accessed in the admin console. If you disconnect a team member from the team or your plan changes, the retrieved info will be adjusted accordingly. 
 
If you’d like me to have a closer look on this matter, I’d appreciate it if you could include a bit more info on the content you shared/ how you shared it/ where you saw the Notification &c. Thanks for checking in with us on the Community & I’ll be awaiting to hearing back from you! 

 


Jane
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support

 

Heart Did this post help you? If so please give it a Like below. 
 Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Best Answer' button to help others find it.
 Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Polls
Do you know how to organize your files and folders?
We have created a guide on folder best practice, so you can get organized now check it out here.

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?