cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Check out the Dropbox cheat sheet for getting started in 2021 here!

Dropbox teams & admins

Got a question about your Dropbox Business account? Get help from users like you. Post a question to get started.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am an admin in my team but am unable to create Team folders. Is this a known issue?

I am an admin in my team but am unable to create Team folders. Is this a known issue?

New member | Level 2

I've registered for a new Business Advanced trial and only have the initial one user - the admin.

When I go to create a Team Folder, it says I don't have permissions. What am I doing wrong?

Here are the steps:

1. Login as the only user
  2. Go to Admin Console
  3. Select Content (I think I'me on the new system now, so no Team Folders as per some help files)
  4. Click New Folder on the right
  5. Enter folder name, in Who Can Access section, select Only You
  6. Click Create

After the above, I receive the error "You don't have permission to perform this action."

No folder is created.

I am also not able to complete the initial "Welcome to Dropbox Business" - first step (out of three) only shows the first Tip, when I click next - nothing happens.

I've also tried a different email and created another trial, separate from this one. But same error, just does not work.

What am I missing, or is there a problem?

3 Replies 3

Re: Are there any issues with Dropbox Business Advanced trial and Team Folders?

Dropboxer

Welcome to Dropbox Business and the Community @ibminitial

If you need a folder to only be accessed by you, I suggest to create it in your Purple folder under "Files". This way the members will not even see it.  If you choose to then share this folder from your purple folder with someone from the team, the folder will appear in their purple folder as well.