cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Removing a shared folder notification

3,491 Views
31 Comments
19 Votes

Removing a shared folder notification

Does anyone know how to remove the notification that a folder has been shared with you (shows on the desktop folder app at the top)?

It reads: "Ashley Stewart Shared XXXX with you"

It's driving me crazy! I've downloaded the items but the notification folder won't go away!

31 Comments
Super User II

You can't. Notifications will fall off the list as new ones are added.

Level 1

I wish I could show you a screen shot. It's not the ones under "recently changed" - it's above that and shows a icon of a folder. It's not that big of a deal but driving me crazy!

Super User II
I wish I could show you a screen shot

Take a screenshot as you normally would. Store it in your Dropbox and create a share link to it. Post the link here.

Super User alumni

Again it cant be removed. AFAIK. I have a tickler in the back of my mind that it disappears after a period of time. But I don't recall if that really happened, or it was my desire to have it happen that way. I wish I could recall more but truth be told I seldom if ever use shared folders.

I remember during the betas that introduced this behavior I asked for a similar way to dismiss it.

You can try using the old interface if you like its Option Click on the Dropbox icon on a Mac and I think Command Click on Windows. But its not as informative.

Level 1

Inv ite yourself to a folder a few times and the other one falls off the list.

Level 1

This is highly annoying. I use the notifications list to view recent activity quickly, and having shared folders appear there is very distracting.

Level 2

I agree - hugely, incredibly annoying. I want to be in control of these, and delete them when I want.

Level 2

The quick access to recently updated files is convenient, but having the latest shared documents  lingering over them all the time is an obstacle and an annoyance.

Level 1

This is seriously bugging the crap out of me! If I had known the link would show up on every single person's desktop until the end of time - I never would have shared the link. It should be a simple fix from the developers to allow removal of the notification or even better - just don't display it in the first place! 

Did anyone ever find a solution to this annoying problem? The shared folders appearing there is super distracting.