Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

no

Best practices for a top-to-bottom DB reorg? Plus adding Team folders?

Explorer | Level 4

I am an admin for a 25-person Dropbox Business Standard install, and I have been tasked with "reorganizing" our DB file structure.  Wondering if anyone has successfully carried out this type of reorg, and if so, if they documented the process and would be willing to share? 

Key issues:

• If we start moving folders around and/or un-share and re-share, I suspect it will trigger downstream re-synchs that could impact our operations (bandwidth in the office is roughly 30Mbps down/100 Mbps up, so having all 25 desktop clients resynching at the same time could create a network logjam).  It may make sense to make the changes late on a Friday so that all the synching can take place after hours and on the weekend.
  • I've been told that if any impacted file is open anywhere across the 25 users, any effort to make changes will automatically stop and then actually reverse the changes. 
  • It would make sense for us to take this opportunity to start using the Team folder functionality, though I'm curious about how rigidly permissions are enforced down through the child folders?
    • Info on dropbox.com makes it appear that child folders can still be setup with permissions that are independant from the parent -- is this true?  For example, if we use Team folders for Finance, and we need to add a child folder that an outside vender can access, can we do it without giving the outsider access to the entire Team folder for Finance?  Another example: can that same Team folder have a single child folder that could be shared with other users in our DB install so that those other users won't have access to the entire Finance Team folder?
  • Any other major pitfalls we need to think about before we start actually moving folders around?

Thanks in advance for any help the Dropbox Community can provide!

Sean

Tags (1)
2 Replies