Announcements
Do you have an idea for Dropbox Paper? Share it with us here!

yes

Copying robocopy back up folder causes share to be lost.

Helpful | Level 5

Hello, I've been using Dropbox for many years and one of the things I do with it is sync my backups across 5 machines with 4 different dropbox users via a shared folder.  I've been using "robocopy c:\backups c:\users\admin\dropbox\backups /E" for all those years to do this.  

Recently something has changed.  Whenever this command runs, and it overwrites the folder in dropbox called "backups", which used to be handled by Dropbox without issue, Dropbox now unshares that folder as if I had deleted the shared folder and created a new unshared folder of the same name. 

If I reshare the folder to my users, on their machine each time it renames it to "backups (1)", "backups (2)" etc. and requires them to download the entire directory tree again.   

Is there any way to prevent the folder share being lost when copying to it?

17 Replies

Re: Copying over a folder causes share to be lost

Dropboxer

This is a behavior I'd be happy to investigate @td0g. Thanks for reaching out! 

A few questions for you. How does this report in your events page? Does it show the folders deleted and re-added? thinking face

Are you on a server?

What version of Dropbox are you using? What is the version of your OS? 

Looking forward to all the details! Thanks. 

Fiona
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Helpful | Level 5