cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Delete, edit, and organize

Solve issues with deleting, editing, and organizing files and folders in your Dropbox account with support from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drop Box Files Opening in New Tab

Drop Box Files Opening in New Tab

ValerieV
Helpful | Level 6

I have been using Dropbox for a few years now and always when I click on a word document it will ask... "Open With" Then there is a drop-down list and I am able to choose Microsoft Word Online. It has always opened up in the same tab in my browser until around June 11th, 2019 all of a sudden it started opening in a new tab on my Chrome Browser. 
I want it to go back to it opening on the same tab and am unsure how to find this setting?

Please help and let me know step by step how If I click on a word document or an excel file in my dropbox files I can get it to open in the same tab and not open in a new tab.
Thank you in advance...

12 Replies 12

Walter
Dropbox Staff

Hey there @ValerieV - how are you today?

As there isn't an option to change this since it's the default way to open this kind of files at the moment, I wanted to thank you for this feedback Valerie.

We are always looking for user input regarding our website so I'll make sure your comments are passed along to our dev team for future consideration.

In the meantime, you'll need to open those files on new, separate browser window to work on them through Microsoft Word Online. 

Let me know if you have anything to add or ask, I'll be happy to follow up.

Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.