Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

yes

Re: Dropbox client warns me that it'll stop syncing in Nov, why?

Collaborator | Level 8

@Technical_John Actually, as a system administrator, I know the rule #2: "Everything fails". So no, I do not rely entirely on anything, but keep several alternatives at hand, every moment.

It's just somewhat sad to see a service nosediving for no good reason at all.

Helpful | Level 5

Ok guys, that's it.

As much as I used to love Dropbox, it is clear that they will not support Linux users in the near future. As an longtime user, I spread the word and got a lot of new users for Dropbox, but no more, now I'm going to do the opposite.

In the open market, we -the clients- have the option to leave and choose another service. So I have taken all my files to pCloud and it is working great! Let's hope that closing our accounts should mean something for the management team.

I'm closing my Dropbox account as soon as possible. It was nice while it last.

See you on the other side!

Re: Desktop app notification: Move dropbox location dropbox stops synchronizing in November

Helpful | Level 6

@cwdillon wrote:

This is really bad news for everybody that uses a different filesystem. Ext4 is not even the default filesystem in many Linux distributions and changing the filesystem is not a trivial task.  

You're really asking a lot from me. 

It appears that Dropbox support for Linux will be extremely limited. It's not just limited to Dropbox folder having to be on an ext4-formatted hard drive or partition, it's limited to Ext4 with Ubuntu 10.04 or higher or Fedora 19 or higher. Nothing is said about support for other Linux distributions. They did add that LUKS is alright. 
Desktop App Requirements

Re: Desktop app notification: Move dropbox location dropbox stops synchronizing in November

Helpful | Level 5

I think accounts are going to be cancelled in droves. I hope they do. Serves DB well for their stupidity.

Helpful | Level 5