Announcements
Do you have an idea for Dropbox Paper? Share it with us here!

yes

I can't save a large excel file in Dropbox

Explorer | Level 3

I have a large excel data spreadsheet, and I recently added into new data. The new data was able to save, but recently I found out that I can't save any additional changes. These are the symptoms:

• If I save the file without any changes (i.e. I open the excel file, then push save without doign anything), it lags for 5 seconds, then saves
  • If I make any changes (even writing one word in a cell), then push save, I get an excel error saying it cannot save

I believe this is a Dropbox issue, not an excel one. I am able to:

1. Save the file onto my local drive with no issues
  2. Save it onto the local drive, then move it to the Dropbox drive with no issues
  3. Save a new excel spreadsheet into the Dropbox drive with no issues

It is also not a filepath issue, since I have been using the exact same excel name for the past 3 years. I already tried reinstalling dropbox to resolve the issue. Although, I will note that saving other excel files into Dropbox does seem slower than usual this past week. Has there been any updates from Dropbox or MS Office that may have created a compability issue in the last week?

Any help? Thanks

13 Replies

Re: I can't save a large excel file in Dropbox

Super User II

Just to be clear, there is no Dropbox "drive." The Dropbox folder on your computer is a regular folder like any other on your computer. It exists on your local drive and takes up space. You're not saving directly to Dropbox online, but to a regular folder on your comptuer. The only difference between it and any other folder is that the Dropbox app is registered to receive notifications of any changes that take place in the folder.