Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

default

no

I moved files from a shared folder but they'll now be removed?

Explorer | Level 3

Recently, I moved several files from shared folders to another folder on my Dropbox. I am getting a message saying that these files have been removed from Dropbox and will be deleted if I don’t recover them. Any suggestions? Thank you.

Tags (1)
3 Replies

Re: I moved files from a shared folder but they'll now be removed?

Dropboxer

Hey there @Jmikeback

In general, moving files may be read as a deletion from one location and an addition to another. 

However, in order to ensure that I have the better understanding of what you're seeing, could you please send me a screenshot (without any personal info) of the error message?

Thanks in advance!


Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Reply
Loading...

Re: I moved files from a shared folder but they'll now be removed?

Explorer | Level 3

 

Hi Lusil-

Below is the message I receioved via email. 

Again, I moved the files out of shared folders into folders that are not shared. These are files I want to keep but don't necesaarily need to be connected to the shared folders anymore.

Thanks!

Mike

 

Screen Shot 2019-08-27 at 4.34.25 PM.png

 

Reply
Loading...

Re: I moved files from a shared folder but they'll now be removed?

Dropboxer

Thanks for the screenshot, @Jmikeback

The notification you show in your image is an informative message that is generally received when a lot of deletions occur. 

Since a move of files from one path to another is read as a deletion and an addition, you received that notification regarding the deletion aspect of the move.

You should still be able to see the files in question in the folder you moved them into via the website and any other connected device that has the location synced. 

If you have any concerns though, you can undo the change or contact our Support team for an in-depth look into this matter. 

Cheers!


Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Reply
Loading...
Syncing and uploads

Have a question? Our Dropbox Community is here to help!

Post your question or search for an answer below.


Learn more about using the Community by reading our Community Guidelines.


Hi anonymous,

If you need more help you can log a ticket with our Support Team here (expected response time 24 hours), or contact us on Twitter or Facebook.

For more info on available support options, see this article.

If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!

I moved files from a shared folder but they'll now be removed?
140 Views
3 Replies
0 Likes
Who's talking
Top contributors to this post