Announcements
Do you have an idea for Dropbox Paper? Share it with us!

no

Sharing and storing videos for work and family, from Adobe Lightroom to grandkids’ sporting games

Community Manager

19388321_10155756800226756_5581098714925543149_o.jpg

Meet George, a freelance photographer and grandfather who uses Dropbox for work and family. This is George’s story…

What brought me to Dropbox
I originally came to Dropbox because I am a freelance photographer and needed a place to backup my images and share large image files by email. But I've also found ways to use Dropbox to share videos and pictures with my family.

How I use Dropbox
The features that have helped me most are the automatic backup of my image and video library, and also the ability to share links so that my family can view, edit and download image and video files.

Typically I import image and video files of my grandchildren's sporting games from my camera(s) to Sony PM Home, and from there to a folder on Dropbox. Then I send a link to my grandsons for them to download and edit, so they can share on YouTube and MaxPrep (a high school sports network). 

I import non-family images and videos to my Adobe Lightroom catalog on a hard drive connected to my computer(s). I then import images and video, which were directly imported to Dropbox, back down to my Lightroom catalog. Finally, with the help of another third party software named GoodSync, I automatically backup my Lightroom catalog to Dropbox. 

Tips for the community
  • Understand your space requirements and make sure your other software can communicate with Dropbox.
  • Setup is the most challenging. After the initial setup your workflow becomes automatic.

Do you use Dropbox in a similar way? Have questions for George about their workflow? Reply below with your thoughts!

Tags (1)
6 Replies

Re: Sharing and storing videos for work and family, from Adobe Lightroom to grandkids’ sporting game

Helpful | Level 7
Hi,