cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Do you have an idea for Dropbox Paper? Share it with us here!

yes

Re: Online files still taking space in my Mac!!

Helpful | Level 6

Hi Alex,

Thanks for this.  I just skipped your post as well.  Seems like an interesting solution and one I'm considering trying, even though I'm not tech savvy.  However, I just came back here and reread that you say: It is important to set a limit that is less than the size of your hard drive. 

I'm wondering if this means that your solution won't work for me and the others, because the problem we have is that the mac "thinks" that our thumbnails are as large as the originals?   The problem we have is when the mac thinks our hard drive is full when it's not.   

Thanks in advance for your help! 

Highlighted

Re: Smart Sync still taking up local space

New member | Level 2

Our company is leaving dropbox for a different cloud storage solution because of this issue . Even our Dropbox representative said there was nothing they could do. All other cloud storage applications allow cloud-only storage to save local space. I don't recomend dropbox.

Helpful | Level 5

Sounds like a good solution, but when you sign up for zero size place holders, they will just ignore you and nothing happens for months.

I don't think it actually exists. The autoreply says we will upload a badge soon, but now specification what soon is for them.

Explorer | Level 4

I've canceled my dropbox account due to this specific issue. It has already cost me more time than the payment for this service is worth. Sadly I had paid the year plan, but I can't be bothered taking further action. It costs me less time and money to simply switch at this point.
I will check back in the future if the issue is resolved, but chances are I'll stick with whatever service I choose next.

I've been with Dropbox for close to 10 years I believe.