Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

default

no

When does DB mark a file or folder deleted? Not using "smart sync" I use "Selective sync"

Collaborator | Level 8

Not using "smart sync" I use "Selective sync" on each PC to tailor which files/folders are maintained locally.

If I delete a file in a folder that is part of one that that PC has marked for sel-sync, is it then deleted in the cloud & any other PC that has that folder SEL-SYNCed?

Thx

JB

1 Reply

Re: When does DB mark a file or folder deleted? Not using "smart sync" I use "Selecti

Dropboxer

Hey @JB M.2,

To my understanding, you are using the selective sync feature, and specifically you have prevented some folders from syncing locally on your computer.

If that's so, the de-selected folders from the selective sync settings will only be accessible on the Dropbox website and not within the Dropbox folder.

If you delete any item (file or folder) that appears within the Dropbox folder, then the item will be removed from your account on the website, and any other linked device.

I hope this information helps!


Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Reply
Loading...
Syncing and uploads

Have a question? Our Dropbox Community is here to help!

Post your question or search for an answer below.


Learn more about using the Community by reading our Community Guidelines.


Hi anonymous,

If you need more help you can log a ticket with our Support Team here (expected response time 24 hours), or contact us on Twitter or Facebook.

For more info on available support options, see this article.

If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!

When does DB mark a file or folder deleted? Not using "smart sync" I use "Selective sync"
90 Views
1 Reply
0 Likes
Who's talking
Top contributors to this post