Announcements
Do you have an idea for Dropbox Paper? Share it with us here!

no

Why are my pics coming from Dropbox SIDEWAYS when they don't start that way?

Explorer | Level 3

First - I hope this is in the right board/label? If not, I'm happy to move it - but this one seemed most likely. I did do a search of both the app integrated Help and the community help boards, and didn't see anything applicable.

I'm sure my issue is probably user error in some way that I'm not seeing, yet - however, I am not a complete novice with this sort of thing and generally don't have issues like this... so I'm wondering if there's a setting I missed or some particular reason this is happening.

Basically - I am taking photos of merchandise with my iphone X... uploading them into dropbox... then retrieving them from dropbox into Quickbooks Point of Sale Pro 18.0 (POS) software on my laptop (brand new, details avail if relevant). 

The photos are right-side up on my phone... and still appeared rightside up in dropbox... but once uploaded into the POS, they're suddenly rotated sideways. There's no way to reorient or edit them in any way within the POS software. I tried rotating them preemptively both on my phone AND in dropbox... but they still show up rotated one quarter (90 degrees) counterclockwise/to the left.

For what it's worth - I've uploaded pics into this software many times from photos moved onto the computer in other (slower) ways with no similar issues - I figured using dropbox would help speed up this process.

Anyone know why this is or how to fix it? I can live with it if I must - these pics are just for our reference so we can visually check that the item in question is the one in inventory, since sometimes dishonest people like to switch tags to get a cheaper price.... so sideways pics aren't a dealbreaker... but it would certainly be BETTER to have them upright, since this application is the only reason I'm using dropbox at all,