Announcements
Do you have an idea for Dropbox Paper? Share it with us!

yes

Highlighted

drag and drop files to a third part online drop box

Explorer | Level 3

I have been using dropbox for over 6 months now. When I dragged a Word file from my computer to the dropbox folder, it went as the FILE NAME. Now, on a different computer, the file turns into a Word icon with a circle that has an angled line through  it can it can't be dropped. HELP. Only alternative is to EMAIL all these files!

13 Replies

Re: drag and drop files to a third part online drop box

Dropboxer
Dropboxer
Hi there, it sounds like on the second computer that you don’t have permission to copy the file to that location.

Is it by any chance a shared folder which has read-only access? Are you doing this on a Windows or Mac device? 

Could you forward a screenshot showing this behavior in order for us to investigate further? Thanks in advance!

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so please give it a Like below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Explorer | Level 3

I can download no problem. Unfortunately, the photos option works to add photo but not to upload. The one below doesn't work either. Sorry. 

Dropboxer
Dropboxer
Are you clicking this icon to upload the screenshot to the forum?

Attach photo.jpg

Also, could you give me the details mentioned in my previous response?

Jay

White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.

Explorer | Level 3