cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

embedding links into microsoft word documents

embedding links into microsoft word documents

Lizthewizz
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

I am new to drop box and giving it a test run for work so forgive me if this is a newbie question....   I would like to create a document in word that has multiple links in it to other word or PDF documents.  In this way, I can have a document that is clear and simple, but we will be able to easily access detailed information when needed.  I would like to have the primary document, and all the link documents, in drop box so that when I share it with others, they will be able to click through the links to reach the secondary document.  Is there a simple way to do this?  

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Rich
Super User II
Go to solution

@Lizthewizz wrote:

I would like to have the primary document, and all the link documents, in drop box so that when I share it with others, they will be able to click through the links to reach the secondary document.  Is there a simple way to do this?

No, there isn't, and it's due to how Microsoft creates the links to the documents.

When you link to another file or object in an Office document, the full path to that file is used in the link. Let's assume for a minute that you're on Windows, your Dropbox folder is in its deafult location, and the files that you're linking to are in a shared folder called Docs. The full path to one of those files would look like this: