cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

yes

I am confused with the icons on my computer. Any ideas what they mean?

Level 3

I am a Drobox newbie. I am confused by the many ways to access Dropbox folders/files. There seem to be 4 ways (see Windows Taskbar screenshot below):

Taskbar arrowed.png

1. the Dropbox web site (via the left Firefox icon) which enables access to my Drobox account folder/files
  2. another Dropbox application (via the next Taskbar icon) which takes me to a list of folders/files
  3. another Dropbox application (via the next Taskbar icon) which takes me to a File Explorer list of Dropbox folders/files
  4. another Dropbox application (via the next Taskbar icon) which brings up the window below

small Taskbar icon.png

I’d appreciate some help on which is the proper way to access folders/files (ie create new folders, delete folders/files, move files from one folder to anther etc.)

Thank you,

Robert

8 Replies

Re: I am confused with the icons on my computer. Any ideas what they mean?

Level 10

The last is the Dropbox 'control panel' (settings). For the rest: Use the most convenient for You. All are equivalent.

Re: I am confused with the icons on my computer. Any ideas what they mean?

Dropboxer

Hey there @mehere - sorry to hear about this. Let me clear things up for you. 

At first, let me clarify the icons you see based on your screenshot from left to right.

1. The first icon is Mozilla Firefox's icon (this is a web browser). If you get re-directed to your account's homepage when clicking on that, it means that you probably saved your account's homepage as a landing page when opening your browser (Mozilla Firefox). 

2. The second and third icons are your Dropbox Folder and a shortcut (or a quick access' icon) to it &

3. The last icon (the one in your system tray) is the icon that signifies that the app is actively running and syncing.