Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

yes

11 Comments
0 Likes
Highlighted
Level 1

I have a question about moving files on my computer. Can you help?

I'm new to Dropbox. The instructions say to "drag & drop" so that's what I did. I presumed the files I dragged and dropped would be COPIED to Dropbox, not MOVED there. Is there a solution for this now that everything is being moved?

1 Accepted best answer

Accepted Solutions
Super User II

Re: Basic question...

As Dropbox is a folder on your hard drive like all others it follows the default actions for that so it is moved. You can of course always copy it back, however, that means you have 2 copies of the data on your drive and one will get out of date quickly - there is no link between the Dropbox folder on your machine and any others

PenguinPenguin - Penguin - Penguin - Penguin

Heart Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below. 

White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.

Arrows Counter Clock Did this post not resolve your issue? If so please give us some more information so we can try and help - please remember we cannot see over your shoulder so be as descriptive as possible! 

11 Replies
Super User II

As Dropbox is a folder on your hard drive like all others it follows the default actions for that so it is moved. You can of course always copy it back, however, that means you have 2 copies of the data on your drive and one will get out of date quickly - there is no link between the Dropbox folder on your machine and any others

White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.

Arrows Counter Clock Did this post not resolve your issue? If so please give us some more information so we can try and help - please remember we cannot see over your shoulder so be as descriptive as possible!