cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

no

Highlighted

If I use a formula on a spreadsheet, it's not updating across devices.Why?

Level 4

I'm an elderly retired teacher who uses Excel for keeping my household accounts on a Windows 10 desktop computer. I use the .xls format rather .xlsx for compatibility with a very old Apple Emac and at my computer savvy son's suggestion saved the file as ... in a Private folder on Dropbox. This allows me to refer to my accounts while out and about with my Moto g5s Android mobile phone. Everything syncs perfectly EXCEPT the three references to the function =TODAY. To check this simply I created a simple file saved as both .xls and .xlsx with nothing but =TODAY() in cell A1. All 5 instances (3 in my accounts and the two test files) show Monday, 7 January 2019 on the computer and Saturday, 22 December 2018 on my phone. I've tried reinstalls, restarts and haven't a clue what's not working.
John Lewis [personal information removed by moderation for security reasons]

5 Replies

Re: Wrong time on files

Level 4

Using OneDrive I get the proper date on the Win 10 desktop computer and the Android Moto g5s when I put =TODAY() in A1 on an Excel s/s.

Dropboxer
Hey @OldAbner, I appreciate your detailed post & thanks for taking the time to gather all this info for us, let’s check a couple of things together & we’ll take it from the results you're getting on your end! 

Please bear in mind that the formulas included in your excel file should update across your devices as expected, as long as your Windows 10 pc is syncing correctly

Please make sure that you’re running the latest Stable version of the application on this device (63.4.107), you’ve made all OS updates & the app displays an Up-To-Date message on your system tray.  

system-tray.png