cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Do you have an idea for Dropbox Paper? Share it with us here!

no

Programmer Arrogance Alive and Well in 2019

New member | Level 2

Dropbox STILL won't let you use removable media. I have a small 35gb HDD but a massive SD card, which will NEVER be removed from my laptop, but yet Dropbox knows best....

This guy sums it up perfectly...

"

Let's call this what it is: Programmer Arrogance

Arrogance in "deciding" that a user will never want to use removable media for their Dropbox storage. I can say this as I'm a programmer too, and recognize taking away a user's rightful choice. Arrogance that a warning would not be sufficient. Yes, if a user does this, they need to realize the drive must always be available when they start their computer. But like others have posted, we live in a different world - 2 in 1 laptops, netbooks, tablets, all sorts of machines that often have limited storage on the "C:" drive if you can even call it that. Mine is an SSD, not really a drive at all.

When I bought this 2-in-1 laptop, it had a 32 GB drive. That is barely enough for Windows 10, which takes (I believe) 21 GB by itself. So I got a 32 GB SD Card and put it in the slot the day I bought it. I will never take it out of the slot. So why, oh why, do you want to deprive me of 32 GB of storage, on this storage-starved machine? Programmer arrogance.

Oh, but you say, I'll lose everything when the SD Card fails. Probably not, it will likely not fail. But even if so, I have Time Machine backups of Dropbox on my Mac, as well as BackBlaze online backups. So no, I am not going to lose anything. My choice! Not the choice of a Dropbox Programmer!