Announcements
Do you have an idea for Dropbox Paper? Share it with us!

no

Highlighted

Using Dropbox with files on an External (Mac) Confused New User Needs Help

Explorer | Level 4

Hi there -

Have tried to go through all the documentation and help files but I'm pretty sure that I've simply misunderstood what Dropbox is/does.

To breifly sumarise I'm a graphic designer who works on Mac. Only software has ever been stored on the Mac hard drive, I keep it completely freed up. I work with very large files which are stored on a 3TB external hard drive to completely free up the computer CPU.

My external 3TB drive currently contains approx 2TB in files for 140,000 files.

I need to work remotely over the next month and rather than carry around a copy of my external drive on a removeable portable drive (as I normally do) I was told Dropbox would be a great solution to access my files on the move.

I chose the individual user "Professional" account model and am currently in the first few days my free trial stage.

What I imagined is a copy of my current external drive always available instantly on the cloud for when I'm travelling that I can automatically or manually sync (changed files only) back to my external drive once I'm back. 

This is what I have done so far:

I downloaded the desktop app and manually copied some of the files from my external drive to the Dropbox folder.

The first thing that I noticed is that everything immediately slowed down considerably and I'm having massive problems with lagging even just trying to write this message!

I checked file info for my Mac and saw that the files that I've copied to dropbox from my external drive have simply been copied back to a "dropbox" file on my Mac CPU and completely filled my Hard Drive! Luckily I'd only copied just over 500GB of the 2TB. I cannot have these files taking up space on my Mac drive – obviously when there are three times more files than I have space for.