cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Integrations

Find solutions to issues with third-party integrations from the Dropbox Community. Share advice and help members with their integration questions.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iOS Files app - can’t download shared files from Dropbox

iOS Files app - can’t download shared files from Dropbox

Ozhumphries
Helpful | Level 5
Go to solution

Hi 

I'm using the iOS Files app to access Dropbox files, because I have >10 GBs of other files in iCloud, Box and elsewhere (working with different organisations), so just using the Dropbox app is not a solution for my filing needs. I have a Dropbox Pro subscription.

When I use the Dropbox iPad app, I can easily and quickly download all files in my personal Dropbox folders.

But when I try to access files in my corporate shared folders, I just get the "Waiting to download" message and the whirring download ring, but they never download.

I need to wait for over 2 minutes, without change, until an error message comes up saying "couldn't communicate with a helper application". It also tells me to try again, and if that doesn't work, to quit the application and try again.

I have done all that. I have also deleted the Dropbox iOS app, and re-installed it. That hasn't solved the problem either. 

Since I can download files from my standard Dropbox folders, could this be an issue with settings/restrictions on the folders in the shared corporate Dropbox folders? This doesn't seem likely because surely, if this was just the result of a setting in the corporate Dropbox, then surely Dropbox would have created an error message that told me that. (Such as "your System Administrator has restricted you from downloading.")